For me, three months is a landmark of sorts.  I have some time in behind me and have nearly doubled my squat and deadlifts.  The Starting Strength program is all about getting Big & Strong.  But alas it was written for a younger audience with greater abilities to recover and adapt to the training.  At the 12 week mark my knees were sore and so were both shoulders.  The two weeks (13 & 14) of diet/cardio/lighter lifting allows me to step away but still be actively working toward my goals which are strength and improved posture.  Although a saggy mid-section isn’t contrary to these goals it is still a nuisance and embarrassing to boot!

On to week Fourteen – a time to recover and lose some weight before the next 12 week cycle

About Tom Bachant

I live in Alaska and enjoy reading, SCUBA, and weightlifting.

Leave a Reply

