We had a quite a cold streak here with temperatures down near zero.  There were enough days in a row that I ended up with a frozen hose bib.  It burst inside the wall and flooded my downstairs. 

I found the water shut off and the whole family pitched in on emptying the room.  Then we used two wet/dry vacuums and got all the water up.  I had to cut a hole in the wall and find the burst pipe and repair it.  Then boosted the temperature up in the room, ran fans and a de-humidifier for a week.

Everything is back together now and I am back to using the room.

About Tom Bachant

I live in Alaska and enjoy reading, SCUBA, and weightlifting.

Leave a Reply

