Sometimes we need to look at our goals and re-evaluate them,  I recently spent some time making a bucket list of sorts.  Really just a list of how I would like to spend my time.  Playing video games did not make the list and yet a good portion of my time this year has been gaming.  It crept up on me.

So, I have looked at my goals and changed what Strong is for me.  I now know that I’m not going to be a Viking.  I want to be fit and healthy and actively pursue activities that I enjoy.  My list of activities are all available locally and I found that they all require endurance–hiking, biking, kayaking and of course SCUBA.  So, with the shift in goals or re-clarification I have started a conditioning program.  After using the elliptical for several weeks I decided to download a Couch to 10K application for my phone.  I started week four yesterday and am making good progress.  My resting heart rate is now at 50 bpm and I weigh in at 174 pounds.  I can double time up four flights of stairs at the local hospital where I work and not feel that I am about to expire.

I NEVER would have thought that I would enjoy running but have found that I look forward to each run.  I have added running to my list of enjoyable activities.  Perhaps I will complete a marathon by 50.  I don’t know for sure but I know that I will continue my work toward being Strongby50.

Quick Backstory:

A little more than a year ago I started exercising.  June 11th I went through the P90X fit test and jotted down the numbers.  I figured it was a good place to start since I didn’t have any equipment and couldn’t see myself regularly going to the gym especially once the days turned short and the cold wet weather rolled in.

I tipped the scale at just less than 184 pounds that day.  I remember jotting down that if I could put on a little muscle and take off a little fat maybe I could end up at 170 pounds.  I weighed 165 pounds back in 2008 and hoped that with the added five pounds I wouldn’t look so thin and weak.

P90X was really intense with a lot of pull-ups and not a good program for me to start.  My shoulders have always given me problems when doing pull-downs so it shouldn’t have been a surprise that midway through the program I had both shoulders so sore I could hardly wash or comb my hair.

While re-evaluating my fitness program back at the end of summer in 2011 I came across the Starting Strength program.  I wish I would have done it or something similar when I was younger.  After reading posts from many happy people on that program many older than me I got enthused and perhaps sidetracked on my goals.  I started the program and made really good progress on strength gains.  But I was putting on a lot of fat as well and went over 200 pounds.  And even worse than the sloppy weight gain somewhere along the line I quit using the video camera to check my form.  Form is really important and without it injuries occur.  For me, it was going forward with my knees at the bottom of the squats.

About Tom Bachant

I live in Alaska and enjoy reading, SCUBA, and weightlifting.

Leave a Reply

